Up Up and Away!

I can’t believe it.  I’m venturing into the strange new world of blogs. Three years ago, I didn’t know what the term meant.  Now I’m trying it.

I’m not sure what everyone else uses blogs for.  My initial resistance to the whole concept came from my fear that this new device, like so much else, was another tool of narcissism.  We hardly need much more encouragement, especially in higher education, where virtually everything is self-referential.  But here’s what I hope for this blog.  I hope it becomes a place that people visit because of interesting commentary, provocative ideas, and useful reflections.  To achieve that, I will enlist the help of many: my colleagues here at AASCU, the provosts who have been such wonderful intellectual companions for so many years who are now participating in the Red Balloon Project, others on AASCU campuses, as well as a host of friends who are national commentators and intellectual leaders.  We’ll post their thoughts, along with some of my own, over the next year or so.

So with that bit of explanation (or warning), we’re off!

About George L Mehaffy

Vice President, Academic Leadership and Change at the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU).
This entry was posted in Red Balloon General Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

